I remember the first time I saw this, I had a HEART ATTACK – OMG – is Google Posting that!?!
This freaked me out and recently a customer called in a panic as he believed that his personal photos just went public and he wanted to know how to make those photos private and stop the instant upload. Now that more people are getting Google+ accounts to set up authorship for their blogs, I think we’ll find a lot of people are freaked out about their privacy with Google.
But read it carefully the photos are just added…
When you go into Google+ you will see that Instant Uploads are only available to you…
So after reading this, I went into my Photos >>> then clicked on Albums>>>> To know who sees what just mouse over the little circle on the right under the photo. Here is what is means:
The first set of photos is photos you actually used in posts and who can see those photos is based on who you shared the post with.
Next you will see profile photos, who can see your profile photos is based on how you set your privacy:
After that you will see your albums…
Earth Symbol = Public, everyone can see it
Strike through Symbol = Just you
Two People Symbol = means you limited it to specific people.
So what is neat about Google Instant Upload is these photos ARE available to you wherever you are from your mobile or at home if you do want to use them in a post. Or just share them with a special friend. It’s one of the few free places that will store your photos online (which also is nice for backing them up) and that let’s those you share the photos with save the photos to their hard drive.
In conclusion, there is no need to worry that your photos will instantly be uploaded for the world to see without your permission. You have to take action to share them with your circles or the public.